Nov 24, 2014

Eric Schmidt Interview on The Scope

Eric Schmidt, Ph.D., professor of medicinal chemistry at the University of Utah, searches marine organisms for novel compounds that could be transformed into therapeutics, such as medicines to combat pain or cancer.... Read More

Oct 29, 2014

Tom Cheatham has Been Named Director of the CHPC

University Information Technology (UIT) is pleased to announce that after a competitive search, Professor Thomas E. Cheatham III has been named director of the Center for High Performance Computing (CHPC), which provides large-scale computer and networking resources to facilitate advances in academic disciplines that require computing and network capabilities beyond those existing in individual colleges, departments, and groups.... Read More

Oct 27, 2014

Nathaniel Cordova Receives Scholarship From SACNAS

Nathaniel Cordova, a Hispanic student in the Class of 2018 at the College of Pharmacy, began researching with Dr. Mario Alburges, Diversity Committee Chair and Research Associate Professor from the Pharmacology and Toxicology Department, three years ago. They study the role of neuropeptides in mediating the effects of drug of abuse on rat CNS, and together with a team of other researchers, they published a paper on, “Responses of the Rat Basal Ganglia Neurotensin Systems to Low Doses of Methamphetamine.” Conference coordinators awarded Nathaniel with an all-expenses paid scholarship to present the paper at this year’s SACNAS Conference (Society for the Advancement of Chicos/Hispanics and Native Americans in Science) in Los Angeles.... Read More

Sep 25, 2014

NACDS Point-of-Care Testing training program

University of Utah, College of Pharmacy, L.S. Skaggs Pharmacy Institute is hosting the Community Pharmacy-Based Point-of Care Testing certificate & Train the Trainer program, NACDS’ two-day training opportunity for pharmacists.... Read More

Sep 23, 2014

Geoff Miller

Congratulations to Geoff Miller who won best poster award at the UU Biosciences Symposium on September 23, 2014... Read More

Aug 23, 2014

Brandon Jennings

Brandon Jennings (Associate Professor) in the Department of Pharmacotherapy was just named 2014 Pharmacist of the Year by the Utah Society of Health System Pharmacists.... Read More

Jun 24, 2014

You Han Bae - Controlled Release Society College of Fellows 2014 Awardee

Professor You Han Bae is a Controlled Release Society College of Fellows 2014 awardee. His outstanding contributions to the field including thermosensitive polymers and hydrogels, material design for improving cellular drug delivery and to CRS with his service and leadership are many. The selection committee is very pleased to honor Professor You Han Bae with this most prestigious CRS award – induction into the CRS College of Fellows. The award will be presented at the CRS annual meeting in July.... Read More

Jun 23, 2014

Professor Gary S. Yost

I am deeply saddened to inform you that my close friend and Colleague Gary S. Yost passed away this morning. Professor Gary Yost joined the faculty of the College in the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology in 1987. Throughout his career Gary maintained an active research group and was a mentor to many generations of students, postdocs and visiting scholars. Gary was always an an avid support of the College and ardent Ute fan. The family has asked me to pass along their thanks to the College for its support of Gary over the years and lifelong friendship. He will truly be missed. Information about services will be forthcoming. Our Best Wishes Go out to Barb and all of Gary's family.... Read More

Jun 20, 2014

Presidential Scholars

The latest post to Ruth Watkins' Academic Insider blog features the six Presidential Scholars.... Read More

May 29, 2014

Epilepsy Foundation Presents Lifetime Accelerator Award to H. Steven White, Ph.D.

LANDOVER, MD, May 29, 2014 – The Epilepsy Foundation announced today that H. Steven White, Ph.D., professor of pharmacology and toxicology and principal investigator of the National Institutes of Health (NIH)-sponsored Anticonvulsant Drug Development Program at the University of Utah College of Pharmacy, has been named the 2014 recipient of the Epilepsy Foundation’s Lifetime Accelerator Award, in recognition of his commitment and pioneering contributions to the field of epilepsy and seizures. Dr. White will be honored at the 4th Biennial Epilepsy Pipeline Conference 2014, being held June 5-7, 2014, at the Hyatt Regency San Francisco.... Read More

Archives by Year

Upcoming Events

View Calendar