Cell Sheet Tissue Engineering Center

Research Interests:

Development and commercialization of allogeneic, off-the-shelf, cell sheet regenerative therapies for large unmet medical needs in regenerative medicine. Disease areas of interest include:

  • Articular cartilage defects
  • Kidney fibrosis
  • Liver Disease
  • Hyposalivation
  • Uterine fibrosis

Visit CSTEC Website 

Team members:

**Address is the same for all members: L.S. Skaggs Pharmacy Institute 30 S. 2000 E., Room 2800, Salt Lake City, Utah 84112; Phone: 801-585-0070; Fax: 801-581-3674

Advisors:

Teruo Okano

Prof. Teruo Okano, Ph.D. – Co-director; Distinguished Adjunct Professor in Pharmaceutics and Pharmaceutical Chemistry; Emeritus Professor at Tokyo Women’s Medical University (TWMU)

Email: teruo.okano@utah.edu

Degrees: Ph.D. Polymer Chemistry, Waseda University, Tokyo, Japan, 1979; M.S. Polymer Chemistry, Waseda University, Tokyo, Japan 1976; B.S. Applied Chemistry, Waseda University, Tokyo, Japan 1974

Grainger

Prof. David Grainger, Ph.D. – Co-director; Distinguished Professor of Pharmaceutics and Pharmaceutical Chemistry; past Inaugural George S. & Dolores Doré Eccles Presidential Endowed Chair of Pharmaceutics and Pharmaceutical Chemistry; Professor and Chair of Biomedical Engineering

Email: David.Grainger@hsc.utah.edu

Degrees: Ph.D. Pharmaceutics and Pharmaceutical Chemistry, University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT, 1987; B.A. Engineering modified with Chemistry, Dartmouth College, Hanover, NH, 1983

Other team members:

mime

Mime Egami - Adjunct Professor in Pharmaceutics and Pharmaceutical Chemistry

Email: mime.egami@utah.edu

sumako

Sumako Kameishi, Ph.D. – Postdoctoral Fellow

Email: sumako.kameishi.kondo@utah.edu

makoto

Makoto Kondo, D.Sc. – Research Assistant Professor

Email: makoto.kondo@utah.edu

oka

Masatoshi Oka, M.D., Ph.D. – Visiting Scientist

Email: moka0220@gmail.com

Hallie

Hallie Thorp – Graduate Student

Email: hallie.thorp@utah.edu

celia

Celia Dunn – Graduate Student

Email: celia.m.dunn@gmail.com

nico

Nico Metzler – Graduate Student

Email: nfmetzler@gmail.com 

 Keisure Matsukura, MD

Help Progress, Give Today

You can help the College of Pharmacy continue to progress with even a small contribution.

Give Today!

PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES RESEARCH AT UTAH

AREAS OF RESEARCH EMPHASIS

RESEARCH FACILITIES

PUBLICATIONS

Upcoming Events

View Calendar

IT Services

CPCSS - COMPUTER SUPPORT REQUEST

COMPUTER SUPPORT REQUEST