

College of Pharmacy Convocation

THE UNIVERSITY OF UTAH Commencement 2018



Candidates for degrees whose names appear in this program were applicants for graduation as of March 5, 2018

College of Pharmacy

Convocation Program

Olpin Union Ballroom, The University of Utah May 4, 2018 – 9:00 am

Procession

Officials, Faculty, and Graduates

Welcome and Presentation of the Class

Randall T. Peterson, Ph.D. Professor and Dean, College of Pharmacy L. S. Skaggs Presidential Endowed Chair

Presentation of Faculty Awards

Student Speakers Ryan S. Nelson, Pharm.D., Class of 2018 Casey R. Tak, Ph.D., Class of 2018

Awarding of Diplomas

Administration of Apothecary Oath

Recession Officials, Faculty, and Graduates

(Audience will remain seated during recession)

Following the convocation exercises, graduates, families, and friends are invited to a Reception in the College of Pharmacy L. S. Skaggs Institute Atrium – refreshments will be served

College of Pharmacy Honors and Awards

Alumni Association Outstanding Senior Award

Drew Favero

APhA – ASP Senior Recognition Award

Matthew Birrenkott

Dean's Award

Lauren Alai

Distinguished Leadership Award

Wilson Pace

Distinguished Professionalism Award

Josh Brockbank Crystal Tomlinson

Distinguished Service Award

Chris Bell

Facts & Comparisons Award for Excellence in Clinical Communication

Logan Peterson

Lilly Achievement Award

Kelsey Kelsch Natalie Morlan

Merck Academic Excellence Award

Benjamin Davies

Mylan Pharmaceuticals Excellence in Pharmacy Award Amber Heaton

Excellence in the Study of Herbal Medicines Award

Logan Peterson

Outstanding Senior Seminarian Awards

Kennedy Bateman Austin Ulrich Kelsey Kelsch Ryan Nelson Camryn Froerer Josh Brockbank Natalie Morlan

Outstanding Pharmacy Student Award

Tyler Gunderson

USHP Student Service Award

Wilson Pace

Core Preceptor of the Year

Donavan Smith

Advanced Preceptor of the Year

Steve Moser

Faculty Preceptor of the Year

Kyle Turner

First Professional Year Teacher of the Year

James Ruble

Second Professional Year Teacher of the Year Marco Bortolato

Third Professional Year Teacher of the Year Jaclyn Winter

Senior Class Distinguished Teacher David Young

College of Pharmacy Teacher of the Year Jaclyn Winter Candidates for the Degree of Doctor of Pharmacy

Candidates for the Degree of Doctor of Philosophy

Candidates for the Degree of Master of Science

Honor Societies Students Elected to the Honor Society of Golden Key TBA

Student Elected to the Honor Society of Mortar Board TBA

Student Elected to the Honor Society of Phi Eta Sigma TBA

Student Elected to the Honor Society of Phi Lambda Sigma TBA

Students Elected to the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi TBA

Students Elected to the Honor Society of Rho Chi TBA

Candidates for Community Engaged Scholar TBA

Candidates for degrees whose names appear in this section are applicants for Summer 2018 graduation as of TBA

Candidates for the Degree of Doctor of Philosophy

Candidates for the Degree of Master of Science

Candidates for the Degree of Doctor of Philosophy

Brown, Spencer Judd, Medicinal Chemistry Bruno, Benjamin James, Pharmaceutics & Pharmaceutical Chemistry Cheng, Yan, Pharmacotherapy Outcomes Research and Health Policy Cornillie, Sean Paul, Medicinal Chemistry Deka, Rishiraj, Pharmacotherapy Outcomes Research and Health Policy Diekjürgen, Dorina Eva Lisa, Pharmaceutics & Pharmaceutical Chemistry Falconer, Jonathan Leslie, Pharmaceutics & Pharmaceutical Chemistry Jiao, Tianze, Pharmacotherapy Outcomes Research and Health Policy Larson, Erica Christine, Pharmacology and Toxicology Lee, Daniel Yongwon, Pharmaceutics & Pharmaceutical Chemistry Linakis, Matthew William, Pharmaceutics & Pharmaceutical Chemistry

Candidates for the Degree of Doctor of Pharmacy

Adams, Anna Elise Alai, Lauren Emma Anderson, Nathan Kristopher Angeles, Ruben Calingasan Bailey, Shaun David Bateman, Kennedy Bell, Christopher Stephen Birrenkott, Matthew Alan Brockbank, Joshua Merrill Buys, Daniel Peter Cheung, Vinson Chu, Stephanie W Churchill, John David Cordova, Nathaniel Martin Daugherty, Jeremy John Davies, Benjamin Ted Edinjiklian, Tanya Madelein Favero, Drew Daniel Froerer, Camryn Donald Geary, Aaron Joshua Ghaffarian, Cima Gunderson, Tyler Alonzo Hardin, Fern Marie Heaps, Brooke Topham Heaton, Amber Marie Ho, Chau Ngoc Holyfield, Kaitlyn Marie Kelsch, Kelsey Lee Kim, Jina Le, Khoi Dang Le, Tracy Lee, James Long, Tyrel R Manwill, Daniel Alexander

Mendenhall, Nicole Jensen Millar, Couper Montoya, Brian Joseph Morlan, Natalie Jane Nelson, Ryan S Ngo, Michelle Thuy Thanh Nguyen, My-Hanh Nhat Nishimoto Macedo, Andrea Del Pilar Pace, Wilson D Peterson, Logan D Reese, Austin D Tominaga, Andrew Jack Tomlinson, Crystal Lynn Ulrich, Austin Clark Van Alstine, Sidney Welch, Patrick Terry White, Emily Winward, Amberlynn Marie Yamashita, Karalynn Mitsuko Zamanyfar, Sheila

Candidate for the Degree of Master of Science

Wilson, Nathan Neal, Health System Pharmacy Administration

Honor Societies

Students Elected to the

Honor Society of Golden Key Bateman, Kennedy Heaps, Brooke Topham Kelsch, Kelsey Lee Tominaga, Andrew Jack Zamanyfar, Sheila

Student Elected to the Honor Society of Phi Eta Sigma Bateman, Kennedy

Students Elected to the

Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi Alai, Lauren Emma Daugherty, Jeremy John Kelsch, Kelsey Lee Morlan, Natalie Jane

Student Elected to the Honor Society of Phi Lambda Sigma Gunderson, Tyler Alonzo

Students Elected to the Honor Society of Rho Chi

Alai, Lauren Emma Birrenkott, Matthew Alan Bruno, Benjamin James Daugherty, Jeremy John Davies, Benjamin Ted Gunderson, Tyler Alonzo Hardin, Fern Marie Heaton, Amber Marie Holyfield, Kaitlyn Marie Kelsch, Kelsey Lee Lee, James Morlan, Natalie Jane Ulrich, Austin Clark

***Summa Cum Laude **Magna Cum Laude *Cum Laude

CANDIDATES FOR DEGREES WHOSE NAMES APPEAR IN THIS SECTION ARE APPLICANTS FOR SUMMER 2018 GRADUATION AS OF MARCH 5, 2018

Candidates for the Degree of Doctor of Philosophy

Hill, Austin Cameron, Pharmacology and Toxicology
Ma, Shuangyu, Medicinal Chemistry
Schauerhamer, Marisa Brailsford, Pharmacotherapy
Outcomes Research and Health Policy
Tak, Casey Ryan, Pharmacotherapy Outcomes Research and Health Policy
Yazdimamaghani, Mostafa, Pharmaceutics & Pharmaceutical Chemistry