THE WEAVER AWARD

1998	Mr. L. S. (Sam) Skaggs
	Inaugural Recipient

- 1999 Mr. Louis H. Callister
- 2000 Dr. Harold H. Wolf
- 2001 Dr. David B. Roll
- 2002 Dr. Linda K. Amos
- Dr. Arthur D. Broom and Dr. James W. Gibb
- 2004 The George S. and Dolores Doré Eccles Foundation
- 2005 Ms. Patricia Marion Lennberg
- 2006 Mr. James L. Macfarlane
- 2007 Claudia Skaggs Luttrell
- 2010 John and Karen Mauger
- 2017 Kristen A. Keefe

CELEBRATING

THE LAWRENCE C. AND DELORES M. WEAVER COLLEGE OF PHARMACY RECOGNITION AWARD

Thursday, Jan 10, 2019

Honored Recipient:
Ronny L. Cutshall



Dr. Lawrence C. and Delores M. Weaver

THE LAWRENCE C. AND DELORES M. WEAVER COLLEGE OF PHARMACY RECOGNITION AWARD IS THE HIGHEST AWARD PRESENTED BY THE UNIVERSITY OF UTAH COLLEGE OF PHARMACY.



n innovative leader in pharmacy education, Lawrence C.
Weaver is the first Ph.D. graduate of the University of Utah
College of Pharmacy, in Pharmacology, Class of 1953. Delores
M. Weaver is a graduate of the University of Utah Business School,
Class of 1951.

Dr. and Mrs. Weaver announced the establishment of the Weaver Award at the College of Pharmacy's 50th Anniversary Celebration on April 18, 1997. Together, they created the award to honor those who have contributed significantly and meaningfully to the pharmacy profession and advanced the College of Pharmacy's education, research and community outreach mission for the ultimate benefit of human health and well-being.

An innovative educator and scientist and dedicated University of Utah alumnus, Dr. Weaver is a graduate of the Drake University College of Pharmacy, Class of 1949, and dean emeritus of the University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy where he served as professor and dean from 1966 to 1984, and again as interim dean from 1994 to 1996. Dedicated to the profession of pharmacy, Dr. Weaver has held leadership positions on numerous boards, including past president of the Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences. For his dedication and scientific contributions, Dr. Weaver has been honored throughout the pharmacy enterprise. In 1989, he received the Remington Honorary Medal Award, the highest honor bestowed in pharmacy. Former Executive Director of the PMA Commission on Drugs for Rare Diseases, Dr. Weaver continues to advance drug research for orphan diseases.

Mrs. Weaver is a retired tax advisor and an active volunteer in health care and her community, serving such organizations as the University of Minnesota Hospital, the Girl Scouts of America, and her church. She taught oral English in Malaysia and, in Minneapolis, served as precinct chairwoman and den mother, and participated in several local advisory boards. She also assists individuals in filing tax returns and teaches tax courses to other volunteers.

Dr. Lawrence Weaver passed away in 2011. Mrs. Weaver resides in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

2018

RONNY L. CUTSHALL

THE COLLEGE OF PHARMACY AT THE UNIVERSITY OF UTAH PRESENTS THE WEAVER AWARD TO RONNY L. CUTSHALL IN RECOGNITION OF HIS EXTRAORDINARY SERVICE TO THE STATE OF UTAH AND TO THIS COLLEGE.

onny L. Cutshall was born in Spanish Fork, Utah, on December 4, 1946. He received his B.S. degree in 1969 and J.D. degree in 1972, both from the University of Utah. He also received an L.L.M. in taxation from New York University in 1973. He was admitted to the Utah State Bar in 1972 and the U.S Tax Court in 1974. He is admitted to practice before the United States Supreme Court. He began the practice of law with the firm of Jones Waldo Holbrook and McDonough in 1973. Ronny's practice is in the area of estate planning, trust, and probate, with emphasis on gift, tax planning and charitable giving.

Ron was actively involved with Ballet West for several years including serving as chair. His activities in other civic affairs include membership on the Economic Development Corporation of Utah Board of Trustees, membership on the board of the Valley Foundation and membership on the Planned Giving Committee for the University of Utah Health Sciences Center, University Hospital Foundation.

Ronny served as Chairman of Jones Waldo for five years before his election as President of the firm in 1994. He held this position until 2002. He began a new career as President of The ALSAM FOUNDATION in 2006. This foundation was created by L. S. and Aline Skaggs. Ronny and Sam began their relationship in 1974 while Ronny was at Jones Waldo. Ron assisted in legal work for Sam and members of his family. This relationship continued as Sam asked Ron to be his personal attorney and a member of the ALSAM grants committee in 2004.

The ALSAM FOUNDATION is a major contributor to colleges of pharmacy throughout the west, including the College of Pharmacy at the University of Utah. Ronny became deeply involved with the college including the funding, planning, constructing and furnishing of the new L. S. Skaggs Jr. Research Building. He took great pleasure and satisfaction while working with the Deans, faculty and the committee responsible for the construction of this beautiful new building.

This year Ronny and his wife Lindsay will celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary. They have two sons, Christopher and Clayton, and four wonderful grandchildren, Connor, Ashley, William and Gabrielle. His favorite pastime is traveling, often with family. He loves sports, biking, reading and spending time with family. He wishes to thank Dean Peterson and the nominating committee and is deeply appreciative of this prestigious award and the distinguished honor bestowed upon him. It is especially meaningful because he follows in the footsteps of several people for whom he has great admiration; expressly Mr. L. S. Skaggs and Claudia Skaggs Luttrell.

