Department Profile

Faculty Profile

  • University Distinguished Professors
3  (Bae, Grainger, Kopecek)
  • Full Professors
6  (Bae, Ghandehari, Grainger, Kopecek, Lim, Mauger)
  • Associate Professors
2  (Chen, Herron)
  • Assistant Professors
1  (Owen)
  • Research Professors
2  (Galloway, Yang)
  • Research Associate Professors
  • Research Assistant Professors
4 (Dong, Jafari, Kang, Kim)

Journal Editors & Editorial Board Activities

  • Editorial Board  - Dissolution Technologies (Mauger)
  • Editor‐in‐Chief, Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews  -  Ghandehari
  • Honorary Editorial Board Member, Nanomedicine: Nanotechnology, Biology, and Medicine (Ghandehari)
  • Member, Editorial Board, Journal of Controlled Release (Ghandehari, Kopecek)
  • Member, Editorial Board, Technology (Ghandehari)
  • Member, Editorial Board, Theranostics (Ghandehari)
  • Till 2019: American Associate Editor, Editor of Concept Paper - Journal of Controlled Release (Bae)
  • Current Editorial Board Member, Guest Editor of Special Issue - Journal of Controlled Release (Bae)
  • Member, Editorial Board, Biomaterials (Kopecek)
  • Member, Editorial Board, Critical Reviews in Therapeutic Drug Carrier Systems (Kopecek)
  • Member, Editorial Board, Journal of Biomaterials Science Polymer Edition (Kopecek)
  • Member, Editorial Board, Drug Delivery (Kopecek)
  • Member, Editorial Board, European Journal of Pharmaceutics and Biopharmaceutics (Kopecek)
  • Member, Editorial Board, Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews (Kopecek)
  • Member, Editorial Board, Journal of Drug Delivery Science and Technology (formerly STP Pharma Sciences) (Kopecek)
  • Member, Editorial Board, European Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences (Kopecek)
  • Member, Editorial Board, Current Drug Delivery (Kopecek)
  • Member, Editorial Board, Macromolecular Bioscience (Kopecek)
  • Member, Editorial Board, Czech and Slovak Pharmacy Journal (Kopecek)

Advisory Activity to NIH, Industry & Scientific Organizations

  • United States Pharmacopeia Expert Committee on Dosage Forms Member (2015-2020) - Mauger
  • External Advisory Committee, COBRE Project, Nebraska Center for Nanomedicine (Kopecek)
  • Council Member, National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering, NIH (Grainger)
  • Chair, AO Foundation Research Review Committee, AO Foundation, Switzerland (Grainger)
  • Member, Scientific Advisory Committee, Centre for Research in Medical Devices (CÚRAM), National University of Ireland, Galway, Ireland (Grainger)
  • Member, Scientific Advisory Board, Univ. Wisconsin NSF MRSEC "Nanostructured Interfaces" (Grainger)
  • Honorary Trustee, AO Foundation, Davos, Switzerland (Grainger)
  • Co-chair, International Symposium on Recent Advances in Drug Delivery Systems (Grainger)
  • Reviewer: Research Corporation, Tucson, AZ (Grainger)
  • Reviewer: ACS Petroleum Research Foundation (Grainger)

Honorary Professional Fellows

  • Elected Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science (Grainger, Mauger)
  • Fellow, Controlled Release Society (Bae, Ghandehari, Kopecek)
  • Fellow, American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (Bae, Ghandehari, Kopecek)
  • Fellow, American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering (Bae, Ghandehari, Kopecek)
  • Honorary Professorship, Sichuan University, China (Kopecek)
  • Czech Learned Society (equivalent of Academy), Honorary Member (Kopecek)
  • International Union of Societies of Biomaterials Science and Engineering, Fellow (Kopecek)
  • US National Academy of Engineering, Member (Kopecek)
  • Doctor of Philosophy honoris causa, University of Helsinki, Finland (Kopecek)
  • Academy of Pharmaceutical Science and Technology, Japan, International Fellow (Kopecek)
  • US National Academy of Inventors, Fellow (Kopecek)
  • Invited Tsinghua Xuetang Fellow Lecture, "Chemistry Impacts and Challenges in Modern Medical Technology", Department of Chemistry, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China (Grainger)
  • Chair, External Advisory Board, EPSRC Next Generation Biomaterials Programme, University of Nottingham, U.K. (Grainger)
  • Honorary William Evans Visiting Faculty Fellow, University of Otago, New Zealand (Grainger)
  • Elected Fellow, Entrepreneurial Faculty Scholars, University of Utah (Grainer)

Recent Honors and Awards

  • Elected fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (Mauger)
  • Chair of the Board of Directors for the United States Pharmacopeia (Mauger)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award, Journal of Drug Targeting (Kopecek)
  • Honorary Chair, 76th Prague Meeting on Macromolecules, "Polymers in Medicine" (Kopecek)
  • Distinguished Mentor Award, University of Utah (Kopecek)
  • T. & A. Higuchi Memorial Lectureship Award, Academy of Pharmaceutical Science and Technology, Japan (Kopecek)
  • International Award, European Society for Biomaterials (Grainger)
  • Daniels Fund "Ethics Initiative Leadership in Education" Award, Daniels Foundation, USA (Grainger)
  • Fulbright Foundation Senior Scholar Award  - Univ. Otago, New Zealand (Grainger)
  • Named "Dr. K.T. Dholakia" prize oration, "Challenges in translating antimicrobial technologies to orthopedic implants", Bombay Orthopedic Society’s Western India Regional Orthopedic Conference, Mumbai, India (Grainger)
  • 58th Annual Edward T. Smith Orthopaedic Invited Lectureship, "Biologics for Orthopaedics – Where Are We in 2014 and the Future?", University of Texas-Houston, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery (Grainger)


Graduate Student Profile

Doctoral Candidates  
  • Pharmaceutics
  • Allied Programs, Biomed Eng, BioChem, MedChem, Etc

This Year's Awards

Last Year's Awards

  • AFPE Fellowship - Christine Nervig
  • AFPE Fellowship - Erica Vander Mause
  • PEO Award - Christine Nervig
  • Graduate Research Fellowship - Phong Lu & Keith Arlotta
  • Skaggs Fellowship - Nitish Khurana
  • Skaggs Fellowship - Erica Vander Mause
  • Fox Award - Nythia Subrahmamany & Nitish Khurana

Post-doctoral Researcher Profile

  • 85% Academia     
  • 15% Industry

Message from the Chair

Hamid Ghandehari, Ph.D.

Read More





Upcoming Events

View Calendar

IT Services